Knitting

What’s on my Needles?

Hello again! By the time you read this, I should be in the Austrain Alps, chilling out in the mountains, doing some skiing and generally having some major R+R (should be being the operative words with the “Beast from the East” storm hitting the UK at the moment – fingers crossed my flights are still happening!) so I thought I’d check in and show you what I’ve been working on for the last few months. I’ve made some good progress on my Make Nine projects and I can’t wait to show you. So let’s begin!

Wooliefeatures' Hermiones Everyday Socks

First up is my New Year Day’s cast on: my Hermione’s Everyday Socks by Erica Lueder. This is the first textured sock pattern that I’ve knitted and only my second ever pair of socks. I’m knitting this out of The Knitting Goddess in the Special Sheep Limiment colourway, which was from their Discworld 2016 yarn club. This yarn is like a sunset or perhaps a Tequila Sunrise cocktail – the colours are so vibrant and cheerful – and it was made for a textured sock pattern. I was really enjoying knitting them, but I had to put them on hiatus until recently because I actuall lost one of my Karbonz DPNs that I’m using to knit these. I know, I was so gutted when I got home from the Knit British 100 episode get together to find that I had came home minus one needle! The good news is that I finally have my new set of needles so I can crack on with getting these socks finished and getting them on my feet.

Wooliefeatures' Asklov Hat

The next project I’ve been working on comes with a deadline: my Asklov Hat. The Asklov Hat is a beautiful colourwork hat pattern by Nicolina Lindsten that was featured in PomPom Quarterly issue No 18. This hat has been on my to knit list for a long long time so I gave myself the task to knit it up before I left for my Austrian trip. Great idea huh? The thing is, I know I’m not good with knitting deadlines and I always, always have issues when I’m almost at the end; I normally have to frog like crazy, which is what I’ve been doing recently. So we’ll see if it gets finished, but I’m loving this pattern.

Wooliefeatures' Cosy Memories Blanket

What else have I been working on? Well the only other thing that has made an appearence over the last few months was my Cosy Memories Blanket. THis is the Zig Zag Sock Yarn Pram Blanket pattern by Debbie Orr which is such a great, easy pattern that you can just pick up and knit straight away thanks to its memorable stitch pattern. I’ve been adding a few more colours and enjoying the mindlessness of it all. It also helps that I bought myself a Norah George advent yarn calendar last December and seeing all those beautiful minis have just made me itch to add them into the project!

Wooliefeatures' Norah George Yarns Advent Calendar

So that has been my WIPs for the last couple of months! I’m really ready to get these off the needles and get some shawls on the go, and get wearing these accessories. With this winter storm hitting the UK at the moment, knitted goods are essential for keeping warm!

What have you been working on? I’d love to know, please share in the comments below.

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.